Skip to main content
  • Outstanding Students, Faculty Recognized at Honors Night Ceremony

June 11, 2019

During the annual Joy Edwards Hembree Honors Program on April 11, Midway University recognized several students, faculty members and campus organizations for their outstanding achievements in the classroom and extra-curricular activities.

The event is named for the late Joy Edwards Hembree, a long-time Midway University Trustee who advocated for women and children.

“The annual Honors event is an important reminder of our purpose and a celebration of our students’ academic and social achievements,” said Dr. Mary Elizabeth Stivers, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Midway University.

Award recipients were (in order of presentation):

Editor’s Note: Photos are available for download.

  • Dr. Linda Cain, Outstanding Teacher Award
  • Autumn Gray (Cynthiana, KY), Associate Degree Nursing Award for Professional Excellence
  • Ashley Waid Szczygielski (Lexington, KY), BSN Professional Excellence Award
  • Marissa Walker (Salvisa, KY), Health Care Administration Award
  • Courtney George (Louisville, KY), Outstanding Biology Student Award
  • Laura Minton (Wilmore, KY), Outstanding English Student Award
  • Nicole Schuler (Ft. Mitchell, KY), Outstanding Environmental Science Award
  • Kurt Paldino (Overland Park, KS), Outstanding Mathematics Student Award
  • Kristina Thompson (Midway, KY), Outstanding Psychology Student Award
  • Mary Hamner (Georgetown, KY), Outstanding Teacher Education Student Award
  • Lauren Peters (Lexington, KY), Theatre Award
  • Graeme Potterton (Lexington, KY), Outstanding Masters in Teacher Leadership Award
  • Erica Ashley (Frankfort, KY), Outstanding Business Student Award
  • Shannon McMahon (Brick, NJ), Outstanding Student in Equine Management
  • Fathom Adams (Grafton, WI), Outstanding Student in Equine Rehabilitation
  • Marissa Thompson (Louisville, KY), Outstanding Student in Equine Science
  • Jose Bustamante (Surprise, AZ), Outstanding Sport Management Student Award
  • Rebecca Smith (Chicago, Illinois), Outstanding Student in Master of Business Administration
  • Gamma Beta Phi Honor Cords– The following students earned honor cords for Gamma Beta Phi for their academic and service achievements:
    • Daniel Cox (Georgetown, KY)
    • Katherine Morgan (Georgetown, KY)
    • Kimberly Valdez (Georgetown, KY)
  • Beta Beta Beta Biological Honor Society Honor Cords – The following students earned honor cords for Tri-Beta:
    • Alyssa Baumler (Louisville, KY)
    • Rylee Beard (Campbellsville, KY)
    • Raven Cannon (Caneyville, KY)
    • Abby Flaig (Sadieville, KY)
    • Courtney George (Louisville, KY)
    • Katherine Morgan (Georgetown, KY)
    • Arie Robinson (Georgetown, KY)
    • Casidy Stolz (Georgetown, KY)
    • Cortini Troublefield (Versailles, KY)
  • Women’s Volleyball, Athletic Team Impact Award
  • Eagle Outreach Student Organization, Student Organization Award
  • Lynsey Doles (Ripley, TN), Excellence in Community Service Award
  • Mikala McClain (Franklin, KY), Midway Eagle Leadership Award
  • Cameron Kincer (Neon, KY), Ruth Slack Roach Junior Scholar
  • Kendra Legters (Bloomfield, NY), Student Alumni Award